A Free Trade Agreement is a binding agreement between two or more countries  which establishes the rules that will encourage trade among them. These are very important tools for exporters and importers.

Currently, the list of treaties applying in Costa Rica can be found on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Trade ( including the following agreements:

  • Colombia
  • Central America
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • CAFTA-DR (United States and Dominican Republic)
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Dominican Republic
  • Peru
  • Singapur
  • (AACUE) Association Agreement between Central America and the European Union
    • Free Trade Agreement with the European Association of Free Trade